The history of the famous 1855 classification in Bordeaux

Welcome to our article on the 1855 Bordeaux classification. We hope that our explanations will help you to understand the history of the famous 1855 classification in Bordeaux.

Renowned, renowned, legendary, we often talk about the 1855 Bordeaux Classification. 

But do you know what it means?

Below, we have summarized the history of the famous 1855 Classification and why it was created. With this article, this ranking will no longer have any secrets for you!

On the occasion of the Paris Universal Exhibition in 1855, the Bordeaux Chamber of Commerce called on wine brokers to establish a classification that would best present the wines of the Gironde. To establish their ranking, brokers rely on the average rating of wines over the last few vintages. There are two classifications: one for red wines and one for white wines.

As a result, in this classification only the red wines of the Médoc, the sweet wines and Sauternes as well as Château Haut-Brion in Pessac are included. The reason is none other than when they were ranked, their rating was twice as high as that of Graves* wines and three times higher than that of Saint-Emilion or Pomerol. A total of 61 red wines have been classified into five categories (as you can see in the classification below).

This classification has almost never been modified, except once, in 1973, when Château Mouton Rothschild moved from the rank of second to the rank of premier cru classé.

Graves wines*: Suburban vineyard extending along the Garonne to Langon.

> Here you can find old vintages wines of Bordeaux <

The 1855 classification in Bordeaux: 


Château Lafite-Rothschild, pauillac
Château Latour, pauillac
Château Margaux, margaux
Château Mouton Rothschild, pauillac (entré au classement en 1973)
Château Haut-Brion, (Graves jusqu’en 1986, puis Pessac-Léognan)


Château Rauzan-Gassies, margaux
Château Rauzan-Ségla, margaux
Château Léoville Barton, saint-julien
Château Léoville Las Cases, saint-julien
Château Léoville Poyferré, saint-julien
Château Durfort-Vivens, margaux
Château Gruaud Larose, saint-julien
Château Lascombes, margaux
Château Brane-Cantenac, margaux
Château Pichon-Longueville, pauillac
Château Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande, pauillac
Château Ducru-Beaucaillou, saint-julien
Château Cos d’Estournel, saint-estèphe
Château Montrose, saint-estèphe


Château Kirwan, margaux
Château d’Issan, margaux
Château Lagrange, saint-julien
Château Langoa Barton, saint-julien
Château Giscours, margaux
Château Malescot St. Exupéry, margaux
Château Boyd-Cantenac, margaux
Château Cantenac Brown, margaux
Château Palmer, margaux
Château La Lagune, haut-médoc
Château Desmirail, margaux
Château Calon-Ségur, saint-estèphe
Château Ferrière, margaux
Château Marquis d’Alesme Becker, margaux


Château Saint-Pierre, saint-julien
Château Talbot, saint-julien
Château Branaire-Ducru, saint-julien
Château Duhart-Milon, pauillac
Château Pouget, margaux
Château La Tour Carnet, haut-médoc
Château Lafon-Rochet, saint-estèphe
Château Beychevelle, saint-julien
Château Prieuré-Lichine, margaux
Château Marquis de Terme, margaux


Château Pontet-Canet, pauillac
Château Batailley, pauillac
Château Haut-Batailley, pauillac
Château Grand-Puy-Lacoste, pauillac
Château Grand-Puy Ducasse, pauillac
Château Lynch-Bages, pauillac
Château Lynch-Moussas, pauillac
Château Dauzac, margaux
Château d’Armailhac (anciennement Château Mouton-Baronne-Philippe), pauillac
Château du Tertre, margaux
Château Haut-Bages Libéral, pauillac
Château Pédesclaux, pauillac
Château Belgrave, haut-médoc
Château de Camensac, haut-médoc
Château Cos Labory, saint-estèphe
Château Clerc-Milon, pauillac
Château Croizet-Bages, pauillac
Château Cantemerle (entré dans le classement en 1856), haut-médoc



Château d’Yquem, sauternes
Premiers crus
Château La Tour Blanche, sauternes
Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey, sauternes
Clos Haut-Peyraguey, sauternes
Château de Rayne-Vigneau, sauternes
Château Suduiraut, sauternes
Château Coutet, barsac
Château Climens, barsac
Château Guiraud, sauternes
Château Rieussec, sauternes
Château Rabaud-Promis, sauternes
Château Sigalas-Rabaud, sauternes


Château Myrat, barsac
Château Doisy Daëne, barsac
Château Doisy-Dubroca, barsac
Château Doisy-Védrines, barsac
Château d’Arche, sauternes
Château Filhot, sauternes
Château Broustet, barsac
Château Nairac, barsac
Château Caillou, barsac
Château Suau, barsac
Château de Malle, sauternes
Château Romer, sauternes
Château Romer du Hayot, sauternes
Château Lamothe, sauternes
Château Lamothe Guignard, sauternes

The 1855 Classification at the origin

The 1855 classification is also at the origin of the idea of creating a classification specific to wines of Graves. The Graves classification created in 1953 was revised and completed and became official in 1959. Thus, 16 Châteaux are recognized (all located in the Pessac-Léognan appellation). In 1987, the INAO decided to create the AOC Pessac-Léognan within the Graves appellation. Pessac-Léognan became a more elitist and prestigious appellation.

The AOC des Graves is a historical appellation covering a territory of thirty municipalities (not counting the ten municipalities of AOC Pessac-Léognan) which represents approximately 3700 hectares of vines in production.

The AOC Pessac-Léognan is a young appellation because it was only created about twenty years ago. As a result, and due to higher quality requirements, the territory is smaller and represents only ten municipalities. In other words, the territory covers 1530 hectares of vines in production. The prestigious appellation therefore has more severe constraints than that of Graves.